KC will not be taking home a James Beard Foundation Award in 2015


A Kansas City chef won’t be bringing home a medal from the James Beard Foundation Awards this year. The JBF just announced the roster for the 2015 awards ceremony in Chicago and the four nominees from KC didn’t advance to the finals.

KC had three chefs named as semifinalists along with Bluestem, which was a semifinalist in the Outstanding Restaurant category. Nick Wesemann was a semifinalist in the Outstanding Pastry Chef category for the second straight year. Howard Hanna and Patrick Ryan were semifinalists in the Best Chef: Midwest category (Bluestem’s Colby Garrelts won that title in 2013). Hanna was a semifinalist in 2013, as well.

In the Best Chef: Midwest category, Paul Berglund of The Bachelor Farmer and Michelle Gayer of Salty Tart in Minneapolis, Lenny Russo of Heartland Restaurant & Farm Direct Market in St. Paul, Minnesota, Justin Carlisle of Ardent in Milwaukee and Gerard Craft of Niche in St. Louis were named finalists earlier this morning.

In the Outstanding Pastry Chef category, Christina Tosi of Momofuku and Ghaya Oliveira of Daniel in New York City, Dahlia Narvaez of Osteria Mozza in Los Angeles, Dana Cree of Blackbird in Chicago, and Maura Kilpatrick of Oleana in Cambridge, Massachusetts, were named finalists. Blue Hill at Stone Barns, Highlands Bar and Grill, Momofuku Noodle Bar, Per Se and The Spotted Pig were the five finalists for Outstanding Restaurant. The complete list of nominees is here.

The 2015 winners for the James Beard Foundation Awards will be announced at a May 4 gala and ceremony in Chicago.

Jonathan Bender

Jonathan Bender is the founder of The Recommended Daily.

Be first to comment